Perfect Pairs

I love the feeling a fashion magazine can give me. Those bright, glossy pages, full of glorious, glittering baubles – when done well – can be just so inspiring. And there’s one magazine that does it better than most. One specific magazine has been getting it so right of late – one specific feature in that specific magazine, in fact – could I be any more specific? That magazine is InStyle and I live and die for the Find Your Perfect Pair spread.

Having recently committed to a subscription (yay!), I’ll be sharing my takes on the monthly pairing goodness!

February’s perfect pair was a tea dress with a pair of slides. Not just any slides – fancy slides. Surprisingly, finding a tea dress in my wardrobe was the tricky part – I don’t often go in for something so girly. After a little rummage, I put together two outfits that fit the bill and were really a lot of fun!

Though not technically slides, I felt these pom-pom bedazzled flats were still perfect. They have a cheekiness about them that tempers the severity of any black outfit, and the delicate lightning bolt print of the dress only serves to heighten the frivolity!

Outfit number two is a combination of a few of my favourite things: rose gold, silky, and anything orientally inspired. I love that the peachy flowers on the dress mimic the colour of the shoes and bring the whole outfit together. Topped off with a pair of reflective aviators, this look is perfect for weekend brunching and all those other mostly but not completely casual occasions.

I’d love to see your take on this pairing so tag me in your Instagram pictures with @jecaevers.

Leave a comment